It would be good in baseball -- 01/09/12

So this is the last day of Holidailies for 2011-12.

Let's see, December 9th through January 9th is 32 days. And this is my 12th entry (although I think I forgot to post one of them on the Holidailies site).

Twelve out of thirty-two... that would be a .344 batting average if I were a baseball player and would be considered to be really good.

Too bad this isn't baseball.

Ah well....

Saturday night Nancy and I watched Taking Woodstock. Strange film. It felt more like two different movies woven together, one a somewhat serious movie about people and their relationships and one fairly lightweight. They went to great lengths to produce very realistic (almost documentary) views of Yasgur's farm and the roads leading to it combined with a slapstick recreation of the El Monaco Motel in White Lake. I mean, I was there. I lived in Monticello at the time (I even bought our milk from Yasgur's Dairy) and I bought my tickets for Woodstock at the El Monaco and I parked on a back road leading to Yasgur's farm and walked with the crowds (I even saw a State Trooper in the midst of the concert-goers in a scene almost identical with the movie except the one I saw had a State Police car parked on the shoulder rather than a motorcycle as in the movie). They did such a good job with that, but other scenes seemed more suitable for a low budget slapstick comedy. They also did some annoying and pointless split-screen stuff for no particular reason at all that I could discern (other than that was a bit sixties looking I guess). Strange.

I've just added Woodstock (the concert/documentary) to my Netflix queue. Haven't seen that film in many years. (Not since its theatrical release.)

Who am I? I am a 68 year old computer geek who lives in Rhode Island with my wife, Nancy. She used to be a computer person as well (we got our MS degrees in Systems Sciences together) but she has since escaped from computers to become a middle school math teacher (and, this year, has moved from teaching math to teaching science). Eldest child lives in New York City with his wife and their two boys. Daughter is currently in Ottawa with her boy friend. Youngest is a restaurant manager here in R.I. The nest is empty. I work for a big computer company (you definitely know their initials) in their education and training department. I used to write courses and teach courses for them but a few years ago I got involved in helping to set up a quality assurance group and now I work from home doing editing and quality assurance checking on courses written by others.Hobbies & interests include photography (and video), running, reading, gardening, cooking, drawing, writing, and politics as a spectator sport. (No wonder I never seem to have free time.) And I've been babbling here on a semi-regular basis for more than fifteen years.

previous entry

next entry

To list of entries for 2012

To Home (Index) page

If you ended up here while searching for Scott Dikker's Jim's Journal comic strip, you need to go here.